View count: 31993


Originally called the Department of Banking and as the first department amongst universities in Taiwan to train financial professionals, the Department of Money and Banking was founded in 1958 and has been chaired, respectively, by Professor Mao-ching Wang, Professor Hsiu-min Tung, Professors Chen-fu Chang, Professor Ching-ing Hou, Professor Kun-min Yuo, Professor Norman Yin,  Professor Chun-shiung Chang, Professor Hau-min Chu, Professor Sung-nan Chen, Professor Tung-hao Thomas Lee, Professor Teh-ming Huo, Professor Chung-hua Shen, Professor Yeong-yuh Chiang, Professor Szu-lang Liao, and Professor Tai-hsin Huang. Professor Shih-kuei Square Lin is the present chairperson.
To date, about one third of its over 2,000 alumni are serving in the financial sector, and many of them are either presidents or vice presidents of banks. There is also a dozen or so teaching in universities at home and abroad, and many are senior officers of either governmental or private organizations. Talents trained and educated by this department are very popular in society. Before the department was renamed the Department of Money and Banking in 1996, the master’s program of the Graduate Institute of Banking had been merged with the department in August 1995. In 1999, the department began to offer the doctoral program to encourage refined researchers in finance.
The Department of Money and Finance aims to develop financial professionals with curricula emphasizing both theory and practice. In addition to fundamental courses, we arrange professional courses including economic theory, financial theory, financial systems and markets, operations and management of financial institutions, accounting and financial management for the undergraduate program. Professional courses for the master’s program include financial economics, financial engineering and innovation, banking theory, currency theory and policy, bank operations and risk management and options.